We go blackberrying…recipe included!

If there’s one thing I love it’s foraging.  For me that’s sniffing out all the lovely aromas in the roots of trees, making my own marks and helping my mum pick blackberries.  We can’t do it often because they P1070431are only ripe in the early autumn.  But there are lots of bushes along the waggonway which is one of my favourite walks cos it’s got lots of trees and interesting smells.

Mum says poo bags come in very handy in blackberry season as they’re dual purpose – not that she collects poo and brambles in the same bag! – so if you have a bundle in your pocket you can use one or two for collecting fruit.  She’s bagged pounds of berries this way.

IMG_0372While she’s picking I have a good explore and will occasionally drop my ball at her feet, just so she remembers I’m there, ah hem, supervising as it were.

When we get home she washes them to get the dust and spiders out then makes delicious things.  I’m not keen on jam but I will force down a bit of pie, crumble or cake if there’s any on the go.

My mum’s blackberry custard tart – multo delicioso!!

 

Whiz dry ingredients and butter in food processor then add enough water to make a soft, pliable dough. Press, thickly, into a 20cm flan dish.

One thought on “We go blackberrying…recipe included!

Leave a Reply

