The big white bird honked at me!!

Ooooh, I got the fright of my life.  Having a happy gambol at Marden Quarry nature reserve and, despite my mum warning me off, tiptoed down to the waterline to say hello to the big white bird.  WHOAH, it honked at me!  Up close it was as big as me.  My mum just laughed but I beat a hasty retreat.

p1000117

It’s pretty at the quarry, particularly on a frosty morning when the surface is frozen and birds coming in to land skid before breaking the thin ice.

More info on the quarry     

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/domesday/dblock/GB-432000-570000/page/1

Leave a Reply

